A Life of Letters

We Have Ants

Posted in 1982, Loves, Rebecca by southpawcom on January 17, 2010

Dad was dying in Kentucky when Rebecca wrote to me from the brick duplex we had just moved into on Ann Street in East Lansing in July 1981. I was down in Kentucky saying goodbye to Dad, although we didn’t know exactly when he would go. He had a hospital bed set up in the family room and 24-hour nursing care by this point. He would go in and out of consciousness. I don’t remember really any meaningful conversations with him at this point of his illness. I remember of course being overwhelmingly sad and sorry for Mom. She was putting on the brave face. I also remember it was stiflingly hot in the Ohio River Valley.

I don’t remember the girl in the shoe store that Bec mentions not once, but twice. I guess she was a little unnerved about something I had said that I thought I might do while I was down there. I’m sure I was kidding the both of us, as having fun would have been the farthest idea from my mind with Dad dwindling down to nothing.

It’s interesting and a little sad that Bec said nothing about my Dad in her letter. She wasn’t an insensitive person by any means. I think she was maybe a little freaked out or perhaps I didn’t explain the graveness of his condition to her. It’s also likely that I myself was in denial about it, and so maybe I didn’t talk about it realistically or openly with her. She was very young, only 20.

Not too young to work a naughty picture in between the lines though…. 🙂

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rebecca said, on May 11, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    Whoa, seriously I drew that picture?? I am astonished. Flabbergasted. Incredulous. And otherwise blown away yet mystified. I would never have guessed I could draw something like that. And the writing…sounds like I was stoned.
    My my, please don’t ever share this with my kids!


Leave a Reply

